Mail from Tel Aviv: Letter from the Director

Dear Students,
I am delighted to welcome you to NYU Tel Aviv. For haryme, this is my third year at NYU. I spent most of my academic life at Emory University where I was a Professor of Hebrew, Arabic and Linguistics and I also served as the Director of the Linguistics Program there. My academic specialties are Judeo-Arabic, the Arabic of the Jews in the Arab world; Hebrew and Arabic linguistics; sociolinguistics and dialectology. I am especially interested in the connection between Language and Religion. I am asking questions such as, why Jews speak differently than non-Jews (for example, “Jewish English”) or, for that matter, why Muslims speak different than non-Muslim? (Research that I conducted some years ago in Dearborn, MI, reveals the existence of “Muslim English”). I also led students in many study abroad academic courses and tours and established several programs in Europe and in the Middle East.

>> Read the rest of Benjamin Hary’s Welcome Letter!

Leave a Reply

